MIP Charge in Vancouver Washington
Criminal Defense Attorney in Vancouver WA
Roger Priest is a criminal defense attorney in Vancouver WA with extensive courtroom experience in Washington’s complex criminal laws
If you are facing an MIP charge in Washington, Vancouver WA criminal defense lawyer Roger Priest can help. The laws can be harsh for underage drinkers. Also, charges for minor in possession of alcohol or marijuana in Washington can cause a license suspension. If you are facing an MIP charge, call to schedule a free lawyer consultation today. Getting good advice and representation from an experienced criminal defense lawyer can help you avoid some of the common pitfalls of a minor in possession charge.
Even if you think the police caught you dead to rights drinking underage, it might be possible to beat the charges. Some MIP charges are hard to prove in court, even if you know you were guilty. Only an experienced attorney can help you decide whether you have a good defense to the charge. Furthermore, there may be sentencing alternatives that can help you avoid a conviction on an underage drinking charge where there is no legal defense.
Minor in Possession of Alcohol in Washington
RCW 66.44.270(2) makes it illegal for anyone under 21 years old to have or drink alcohol or to be in public while exhibiting the effects of having drank alcohol. Violation of this law is considered a gross misdemeanor in Washington and is punishable by up to a year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine.
Minor in Possession of Marijuana in Washington
RCW 69.50.4014 and RCW 69.50.360 makes it illegal to possess 40 grams or less of marijuana unless you are 21 years old or older. Violation of this law is considered a simple misdemeanor in Washington and is punishable by up to 90 days jail and a $1,000.00 fine. Under the current laws, possession of over 40 grams of marijuana is punishable as a felony for an individual under 21 years of age.
If you are convicted of an MIP charge for either alcohol or marijuana in Washington, the court will notify the Department of Licensing (DOL) of the conviction. The DOL will then send you a letter (to the address they have on record for you) informing you that your license will be suspended beginning 45 days later. The length of the license suspension depends on your age and whether this is your first MIP charge. The license suspensions are as follows:
Latest Client Reviews
Roger Priest is professional, intelligent and experienced, you can tell by the way he holds himself in court. Out of the 21 lawyers I interviewed and compared on an excel spreadsheet. I put my trust in Roger and he didn't let me down.
Roger Priest was my Criminal Attorney for a DUI case I had in 2018. Through out the whole process he was in contact and always was reassuring! He gave his honest opinion on rather or not if my case would be worth going to trial, which is hard to come by! Today I left the courtroom a free man to come home to my family with a lot of tension lifted off my shoulders because of how he was articulate and presented my defense. I am very lucky to have him in my corner and to be spared. I will take this experience as a wake up call because these opportunities don't come too often! Mr. Priest definitely deserves a 5 star rating for his devotion and overall performance.