October 4, 2020
Can I Get a Commercial Driver’s License With a DUI in Washington State?
Motorists convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Washington State may face fines and jail time. For drivers who planned to pursue a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or already have one, your DUI has jeopardized your status and possibly your ability to keep that particular license.
If the state revokes your CDL, your livelihood and career may be in jeopardy.
How Long Will Washington State Revoke For My Commerciale Driver’s License After A DUI?
When a driver who has a CDL commits their first DUI, regardless if they were driving a commercial vehicle or another vehicle, their CDL will be revoked for one year. However, if the driver was transporting hazardous materials at the time of the DUI, their CDL will be revoked for three years.
If a driver commits a second DUI offense, their CDL will be revoked for life.
How Do I Requalify For A Commercial Driver’s License After A DUI Offense?
If you have been charged with a DUI and want to requalify for a CDL, first you’ll need to wait one year. You will need to pay a $35 re-qualification fee and pass the CDL knowledge and skills tests again. If you were driving with hazardous materials, you’d need to pass an additional knowledge test and possibly pass a background check.
If you have been convicted of two or more DUI’s, you will be banned from requalifying. However, you can request an administrative review to appeal this decision.
Will I Face Additional Penalties For A DUI Besides Losing My CDL?
If you were caught and convicted of a DUI, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving, you have more to worry about than only losing your CDL. You may need to pay a hefty fine or even face jail time.
If it’s your first offense, you face one to 364 days in jail or $350 to $5,000 in fines. For second offenses, you may need to serve 30 to 364 days in jail or $500 to $5,000 in fines. For third offenses, Washington States imposes a jail sentence of 90 to 364 days and/or a $1,000 to $5,000 fine.
Your regular driver’s license may also be revoked anywhere from 90 days for first offenses to three years for a third offense.
What Should I Do Next If A DUI Revoked My Commercial Driver’s License In Washington?
If you have been charged with a DUI and fear your CDL will be revoked, contact Roger Priest at VanWa Legal right away.
Roger Priest has years of experience handling hundreds of criminal defense cases, specifically related to DUI in Clark County. The priest has handled countless DUI cases and has won dozens of DUI trials. In many cases, Preist and the VanWa Legal team will negotiate on your behalf to achieve the best possible outcome for your DUI penalty and reduce the cost of a trial to you.
The priest can help you minimize the damage of a DUI charge in Vancouver, WA, and help guide you to requalify for your CDL.
Speak With A Lawyer Now.
Free Consultation Available!
We aim to provide unparalleled service, and love to hear back from current and former clients. Check out our business profiles below and feel free to leave a review if you liked working with us. If you ever have questions or concerns about your case or our service, please give us a call. We aim to make sure our clients get the best information and walk away from our legal business with the utmost confidence. No question or concern is too small to call.
I earn my living by earning the trust and respect of my clients. As a prospective client, I hope to show you this first-hand.